CHINA OPEN – 10th Anniversary

CHINA OPEN – 10th Anniversary
Shanghai, China 6 September 2018

CHINA OPEN – 10th Anniversary

After three gruelling days of qualifying, the final stage of the 2018 China Open gets underway this morning. The first stage of the tournament is played as double elimination, and after half of the field has been eliminated, the players are redrawn and the the tournament becomes single elimination/knock-out. The China Open is played in two divisions, one for 64 men and the other for 48 women.
Some of the first round matches, particularly in the men’s group could be thought of as a match worthy of being a final. Fortunately the loser will get another chance because of the double elimination format.
One of the first men’s matches features two former world champions, Niels Feijen (NED) vs Wu Jiaqing (CHN). Some other expected tough matches include Denis Grabe (EST) vs Thorsten Hohmann (GER), Alejandro Carvajal (CHI) vs Chris Melling (GBR) and Cheng You Hsuan (TPE) vs Do The Kien (VIE). In the second session the heat continues, Mario He (AUT) vs Shane Van Boening (USA), Ralf Souquet (GER) vs Jayson Shaw (GBR), Liu Haitao (CHN) vs Francisco Sanchez Ruiz (ESP), Billy Thorpe (USA) vs Albin Ouschan (AUT).
For the women, the top seeds get a somewhat easier start as they have a bye for their first match because of a 48 player field.
Updated scores can be seen at

WPA Official Ball Set

Newsletter Signup!

Like Our Facebook Page